When To File Workers Comp – If you are injured or become ill due to unsafe or unhealthy working conditions, you may be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. Your dependents will be eligible for the same benefits if you, unfortunately, die as a result of your work-related injury or illness.
But what happens after you file a workers comp claim? And how long will you have to wait to hear back from the insurance company?
When To File Workers Comp
If you’re asking yourself these questions or believe you may be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits, keep reading. Because here, we walk you through the claims process under Florida law and how you can check the status of your claim.
How Do I Maximize My Workers’ Comp Settlement?
Before learning how to check the status of your workers comp claim, you first need to understand the filing process, which we’ve broken down in the infographic below:
Now that you’ve familiarized yourself with the workers’ comp claim filing process, you’re ready to learn the next step: checking the status of your claim.
If you want to check the status of your ongoing claim, call the insurance company directly. Do not contact your employer as they are not involved in your claims process and will not be able to give you any information.
When you talk to insurance companies, be careful what you say. The insurance company will probably look for any excuse to reduce the number of compensation benefits it pays you.
Should I File A Workers’ Comp Or Personal Injury Claim In Florida?
If you are a federal employee, you can click here to find the forms you need to make a claim.
Proving your workers compensation claim can be difficult, as you must prove that your employer acted negligently and directly caused your injury or illness. For this reason, you may want a workers comp lawyer to help you prove your claim.
Although we do not practice workers’ compensation law, we will be able to put you in touch with a trusted workers’ comp lawyer who will be able to help you navigate through the legal process.
Law, we are a personal injury law firm, so we will be able to provide you with excellent legal representation. It is important that injured workers understand that the breakdown of responsibility during workers’ compensation is demanding to navigate the process. Consulting a workers compensation lawyer in Philadelphia PA is highly recommended to ensure that all of your rights are upheld and that you receive the best possible compensation for your injuries when making a claim.
How Do I Check The Status Of My Workers’ Comp Claim?
An employee injured at work is responsible for reporting the injury to the employer as soon as possible. It is important to report your injury promptly and waiting too long to report an injury may make you ineligible for benefits. In Pennsylvania, you must give notice to your supervisor within 21 days of the incident. Waiting an extended period of time—more than 120 days—can result in you losing your right to workers’ compensation benefits. It is highly recommended that you make the report to your employer in writing and keep a copy for your records.
Other timelines may apply; For example, the reporting period for an occupational disease is different from the reporting period for a workplace injury. Contact a workers compensation lawyer in Philadelphia PA to help you understand the time limits that may affect your claim for a workplace injury claim.
An employee is also responsible for cooperating with workers’ compensation insurance carriers. The insurance carrier may make specific requests of the employee during the claims process. For example, the insurance carrier may request an independent medical examination (IME). It is important that the employee fully cooperates with these requests. Refusing to keep an appointment and running the insurance carrier can negatively impact your claim.
After a workplace injury, it is important for the employee to act ethically and responsibly. It is important to recognize that many insurance carriers will hire private investigators to monitor employees injured on the job to determine if they are lying about their injuries. Never fake an injury or exaggerate the extent of your injury. Employees who engage in fraudulent behavior may face serious consequences.
When Is It Worth It To File A Workers’ Comp Claim?
Ultimately, it is up to the employee to contact a workers compensation lawyer Philadelphia PA for high cost claims. Insurance carriers’ attorneys work to minimize their payouts, and without an attorney to represent your interests, you may be at a distinct disadvantage.
Pennsylvania law requires that employers assume certain responsibilities during the claims process. Employers are responsible for ensuring that they follow all applicable laws and do not violate the rights of injured employees. However, some employers try to skirt these responsibilities. A workers compensation lawyer Philadelphia PA can be relied upon to represent your claim to ensure that your employee rights are upheld and that you receive the best possible compensation for your injuries.
The employer’s first responsibility is to file a First Report of Injury (FROI) form with the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation. Submitting this form is a notification of the date you were injured or diagnosed with an illness. It provides the workers’ compensation bureau with the start date when a claim is filed against the employer for workers’ compensation benefits. The employer must report the injury to its workers’ compensation insurance carrier. The insurance carrier must deny or accept your request for benefits within 21 days from the date of notification.
The employer is responsible for providing the employee with written notice of the employee’s rights and responsibilities regarding medical treatment. This notice is required under PA Workers’ Compensation Act section 306 (f.1)(1)(i). This required form provides information to employees about their right to seek emergency treatment, their right to use non-designated providers, and their responsibility to notify employers of certain actions. If you have questions about these rights and responsibilities, contact a workers’ compensation lawyer in Philadelphia PA for advice and counsel.
How To Report Industrial Employee Injuries In The Workplace
Additionally, employers are responsible for accepting an employee’s return to work when they are physically ready. This includes the trial-to-work period provided under the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act. You may still be entitled to partial disability benefits after returning to work after a workplace injury, so the Wieand Law Firm recommends seeking the assistance of a workers’ compensation attorney to ensure you understand your rights.
Philadelphia workers’ compensation lawyers represent clients of the W& Law Firm who have suffered workplace injuries. We offer a free consultation to help you understand your case or illness and explain your legal rights and options. Call 215-666-7777 today or send us a message via the online form to speak directly with an attorney. Each state has its own guidelines on how workers’ compensation claims should be filed If you have been injured at work in Pennsylvania, there are several things you need to know about making a workers’ compensation claim. In this guide, we’ll discuss what a workers’ compensation claim is, when and how to file one, and how the process works.
Workers’ compensation protects you if you are injured at work. These benefits allow you to earn some income and pay medical bills, among other benefits. With Pennsylvania’s workers’ compensation system, employers pay for insurance and, in the event of a workplace injury, eligible workers are entitled to reduced benefits regardless of the fault of the injury.
Many injured workers in Pennsylvania have questions about filing for workers’ compensation. The PA workers’ compensation claims process was created to help workers, but if you understand how it works, you’re more likely to improve your chances of securing benefits.
Appealing A Workers’ Comp Denial
It may also be helpful to speak with a workers’ compensation attorney if you have concerns and would like personalized legal advice.
Timing is important. You begin the Pennsylvania workers’ compensation process by reporting your injury or work-related illness to your employer. In Pennsylvania, you must do this within 120 days of your injury or illness. If you wait too long, you may lose the workers’ right to ask for reduced benefits.
While 120 days may seem like plenty of time to file your claim, you’ll want to notify your employer as soon as possible. Delays can increase the risk of challenges to your claim, and waiting can hurt your case.
Within 120 days of your injury or illness, you must tell your employer that you have a work-related illness or injury. Ideally, you’ll want to report your injury sooner than this deadline. If you report your injury within the first 21 days of sustaining your injury, you can receive your benefits from the date you were injured. Waiting after the first 21 days means you will receive your benefits instead of the date you did